PHP Tutorials: Sending email (Part 1)

18 04 2011

Using the mail function, I show you how to create a very basic script. With a little tweaking of our php.ini file, we can send an email from php very easily!

Creating a Drop Down Menu for your website is perhaps the most requested and hotly searched item for designers across the web. In this tutorial we will take a look at how to build a Flash Actionscript 3.0 Drop Down Menu which is easy to add drop down sections to, and pretty simple to setup. The beauty of this technique is that once you have built on Menu you can simply take it and do a few color changes, or Menu/ Text changes and you have a brand new Drop Down Menu. In this Tutorial we will learn about: Actionscript 3.0, EventListeners, Children, A few simple things about the Display List, and much, much more! Be sure to check out http://www.tutvid.com Check out the blog @ http
Video Rating: 4 / 5

Actions

Information

50 responses

18 04 2011
alwaystone

hello all. i wont to do this program but i can not send email.
it shows>> Warning: mail() [function.mail]: Failed to connect to mailserver at “localhost” port 25, verify your “SMTP” and “smtp_port” setting in php.ini or use ini_set() in C:….. on line 30<<
can anybody help mee.
please how can i fix this.

18 04 2011
thetaye

Sumbit. lol

18 04 2011
shaurora26

hey thanks for the tutorial.
but i gotta a probleme, when i click the send buton i get the code you..not a HTML page but like the sourcing code. why???

18 04 2011
zeificaiOn

my mail server uses a authentication system, how do i enter the password

18 04 2011
khlimj

I add password cause these errros:

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user ‘root’@’localhost’ (using password: YES) in C:xamplitehtdocsmysiteloginregister.php on line 19

How can I fix this problems.

18 04 2011
khlimj

I add password cause these errros:

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user ‘root’@’localhost’ (using password: YES) in C:xamplitehtdocsmysiteloginregister.php on line 19
Warning: mysql_select_db() [function.mysql-select-db]: Access denied for user ‘ODBC’@’localhost’ (using password: NO) in C:xamplitehtdocsmysiteloginregister.php on line 20
How can I fix this problems.

18 04 2011
samiwistler

PHP gurus

18 04 2011
RobertMOdell

If you are just testing from a PC without an email server running, is there a way to get the mail() function to work? Can I configure to use an external mail server, or other solution? Thanks.

18 04 2011
Muse94Muse

so no more VisualUpload tutorials?

19 04 2011
imwithswat

CHECK OUT MY CHANEL TO LEARN PHP IN 17 HOURS

19 04 2011
Acebeats1

I have a legal list of email recipients (approximately 5000+) from my musicbusiness. I need to send out bulk email messages with one click of a button and would like to do this in php.

Do you know of any bulk email sending php scripts?

Thanks!

19 04 2011
aramkurdi

hi
thank you for this usefull tutorial, anyway possible you could provide the source code please.

19 04 2011
masoodshok

Thank you for your lessons.. 🙂 100% useful

19 04 2011
klief2000

my problem now is how to setup my mail() function still i cant send email .. i think it is in php.ini . try to search for this. tsk2…

19 04 2011
ImaniHopeFaith

Hi Nat,
About 3 weeks ago because I wasn’t making any progress on my Project.I’m creating a Web based Banking System, and I need to produce this system that’s a real representation of reality. Then I surf through You Tube looking at the only videos that comfort me(Westlife Videos) and I see a link to one of your tutorials.Thanks for making use of your talent to be the change!

19 04 2011
ArabianCracker

Great , Ty

19 04 2011
mashuka1000

thanks for your tutorials

19 04 2011
lgbpinho153

did someone notice at 2:00 there is “form action=’sendMEANemail.php’…” heheheheh

Thank you very much for your tutorials, they are really helping me out

19 04 2011
yjhjerry

I can’t watch the video…??

19 04 2011
paulmariz

hey php master, your tutorial is great..but can you teach me how to create a atm transaction with balance inquiry, deposit, withdrawal, and money transfer?..pls?..

19 04 2011
romanbrkz

when user registar the activation link will send on his inbox can you tell me how to send this activation or this email to two persons for eg one for registared person and one for admin

19 04 2011
valiyev007

you have to pay to access yahoo’s smtp server, though you don’t for gmail’s. Yahoo Hosting Supports PHP Smtp Mail Sending Functions.

19 04 2011
computertrick

@mahesh0018 try changing the port gmail’s default port is 587 change it to yahoos default smtp port

19 04 2011
mahesh0018

my mail Function doesn’t work with yahoo but it works with yahoo…I sent mails using my web site
but it woks with gmail can you help me??

19 04 2011
1713162434

excelent work! congrats… but How can I send emails from da localhost… using for example mercury as smtp server? Thank you

19 04 2011
DRoofcat

Great tutorial. This is my first time with actionscript besides making a play button. Ive taken a flash class but have yet to take a actionscript class. I am having a bit of trouble with this. I finished everything but my drop down menu wont show up. I keep getting this error:

TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter child must be non-null.
at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/setChildIndex()
at dropdownmenu_fla::MainTimeline/navOverF()

Any idea what I’m doing wrong? TY in advance!

19 04 2011
Noctis411

@kopy001 U just export ur .fla file to an swf (ctrl+enter). Then go in dreamweaver, create a div tag with hieght and width same as ur stage, then drag and drop the swf file in that div. U can also use the publish function in flash itself, go File -> Publish and it will make the html page for u.

19 04 2011
imnot15im84

ive learned one thing today, dont start your actionscripting with a 40 min long tutorial:S

19 04 2011
kinnnngkhan

Hey! can you extend the tutorial by extending the dropdown to other buttons…actually what i m tryin to do is… let say you go to portfolio then the drop down comes up, now after that when you click on a button in portfolio menu the menu for that button to come over…any suggestions???

19 04 2011
ameerxx12

dude i work on 2 screens and i had to move the mouse pointer all the way from the left Screen to the Right screen just to pause and then type the script then back to your video.. play it and then pause it back to my Action panel to type whatever you were saying … Slow down … lol!

19 04 2011
Darkaero108

wow you talk fast, great video though thanks xD

19 04 2011
emilelampe

i don’t what i’ve done wrong but when my cursor goes over Portfolio there isn’t coming a submenu?
can please anyone help me?
i’m sorry for my english, it’s not my first language

19 04 2011
railfanatic844

how do you make multiple drop down menus? multiple clickers???

19 04 2011
joeykeys2003

How do you inappropriate this code to the other navBar items? How would i make the about me react the same. Plz help a brotha out!!! lol thanks

19 04 2011
kopy001

can someone please explain to me how to insert this into dreamweaver, and will it have all that white bg when it is in dreamweaver? I will sub u 😀

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

To all having trouble search youtube for Flash drop down menu tutorial in ActionScript 3 by flashbuilding

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

I have added this code to set the main movie clips to show a hand tool…

button_mc.buttonMode=true;

However, the hit area for these movie clips is in the lower half. Every time I move to the center or above that lower portion the mouse pointer turns into a cursor. So how do you set the movie clip hit area to be the whole movie clip area?

Please help.

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

@sirClogg,

Watch this tutvid (name below) about 14:30 in and you’ll see how to add navigateToURL to your sub-menu buttons. Just add the code in a new layer called AS in frame one of your clicker/drop downs button where the drop down buttons live.

ActionScript 3.0 Linking and Using Buttons: Flash Tutorial!

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

Is it possible to set the main navBar buttons to buttons instead of movie clips? I’d like to have the mouse pointer display a hand tool like it does for the drop down buttons, and be able to Mouse_CLICK them when using the navigateToURL code.

Please help.

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

Is it possible to re-code this so that the main navBar buttons are buttons instead of movie clips? You can setup to navigateToURL on these movie clips, but it’d look much better if they were buttons one could click… with the mouse pointer displaying the hand tool.

Can anyone advise me how to set this up.

Thanks

19 04 2011
sirClogg

Did anyone figure out, how to place links to submenu buttons?

19 04 2011
sirClogg

@sirClogg btw it works for the other buttons the “main ones” SO ANYONE, WHO WANTS TO LINK THOSE, CAN USE IT. just place this code to 1st frame inside the buttons_mc. Make several variables with different links
var varName:URLREqu..
And attach them to your menu buttons
mainmenu_btn.addEvent …
And make several functions

19 04 2011
sirClogg

the error says: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
I placed the script in that 5th frame inside dropdown menus mc (I followed the tutorial exactly 🙂 )
the “drop1_btn” is one of my buttons in that dropdown menu.
Could you please tell me how to attach links to theese buttons? Thank you.

19 04 2011
sirClogg

@dabears900
nice. But there is a tutvid tutorial covering this as well. What it doesnt cover (and Im strugling with it right now, because its my 1st as3 project and Im completly lost) is how to add links to buttons in that dropdown menu.
I tryed:
import flash.events.MouseEvent;
var getDrop1:URLRequest = new URLRequest(“mysite.html”);
drop1_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, dropClick);
function dropClick(event:MouseEvent):void {
navigateToURL(getDrop1);
}
But I get error #1009 all the time

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

@captainkdizzle, my text is static and it doesn’t resolve the issue. Any other ideas?

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

@Schneckism,

I copied buttons created from a base from the library as detailed in the video. I’m not sure what you mean, but I have this issue too. Please could you describe how you fixed it.

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

The output is telling me something is wrong with the childIndex…

………

TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter child must be non-null.
at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/setChildIndex()
at FlashWebsiteIntroPart3_fla::MainTimeline/navOverF()

……….

Please can you help me fix this issue.

And, having done one, how do I go ahead and do another drop down for a another button and finally add getURL’s to each link?

Thanks,

Ashley

19 04 2011
AshSmith06

@mindforests1, I’m having the same issue m8. Anyone know how to fix this?

19 04 2011
DustySpitter

can u use this in dreamweaver?

19 04 2011
Maltebyte2

followed step by step cant get the gradients right! lol




