Liquid DnB Tutorial Day 7 pt 2: The Final Song [7 Day Song]

18 04 2011

Grab this song on… iTunes: bit.ly Amazon: amzn.to http://www.boyinaband.com – head over to my website to see the text version of the tutorial, grab some samples and check out my other blogs and tutorials! And http for the forum (Shocking, right?) Enjoy this reason 4 tutorial!😀 This liquid drum and bass tutorial is ideal for producers wanting to learn how to make tracks like Netsky, Logistics, Well Being etc.

http://www.boyinaband.com – head over to my website to see the text version of the tutorial, grab some samples and check out my other blogs and tutorials! In Today’s Reason 4 Tutorial, I’ll be teaching you how to make a powerful trance bass synth to go on top of the beat to be the backbone for our melody, then go on to make a distorted acid lead synth to add some grittiness to the track! Ace!
Video Rating: 4 / 5


Actions

Information

45 responses

18 04 2011
AudioInjectedSoul11

wow its very nice. gotta say.

18 04 2011
RendoDnB

im new to reason and iv been wanting to make liquid dnb for a long time is there any where i can get any good plug ins ? pls help

18 04 2011
2DPolygon

Wow really reminds me of Netsky, especially the beat.

18 04 2011
emericacore

Love the way your mouse flies around the vid in sync with the tune! You’re awesome dave!

18 04 2011
thebiglyon7

GREAT SOONG MEN… I LOVE IT… GRETTINGS!!!

18 04 2011
bluntmasterflash

@idlavrajala reason 4

18 04 2011
rotncreep

@idlavrajala Reason 4

18 04 2011
idlavrajala

what is the name of the program that you use pls? no rude comments thank you

18 04 2011
ILoV3WeeD420

i played snake instead

18 04 2011
LimBilan

This is awsome)

18 04 2011
kn100kn100

I really, really enjoyed this tutorial. Honestly these are some of the best tutorials I’ve ever seen on Youtube, well thought out, but your ‘smooth jazz’ voice is quite creepy, have to say xD

Thank you so much, and by the way, the result was surprisingly good ;p

18 04 2011
hillehbilleh

this is bloody relaxin i fort u sed bloody bass drops

18 04 2011
JIMVOMIT

Hi, hes dave from Boy In A Band

18 04 2011
seansi

@theboywhodestroyed24 yeah thats not what i ment, i dont think he records from the keyboard but what i ment is that he uses the keyboard to preview what it will sound like..thinking about getting one myself, just not sure if its worth the investment

19 04 2011
theboywhodestroyed24

@seansi ok, in the other videos he sits down and uses his mouse to make the line instead of recording it straight from the midi🙂

19 04 2011
seansi

@theboywhodestroyed24 im pretty sure he has a keyboard.

19 04 2011
theboywhodestroyed24

amazing how you are only using your mouse? you don’t have a keyboard dudez? Keep up the good work! a big it up from sweden

19 04 2011
Djreko

DUDE !! UR THE SHITTT !!!! just amazing .. ive also watched your other tuts .. its just fun watchin the tut without doing it .. amazing !
respect !

19 04 2011
Emapsych

LORD The Music

19 04 2011
Benshi8

Great as always Dave! Keep it up.

19 04 2011
The7thCircuit

@sten360

my thought exactly but it doesn’t take 7 days to make this lol synths and pads are easy in my opinion its the drum variations and build-ups break-downs which take allot of time to do, good song, just falls into the same trap as most DnB and that’s raping the Amen Break to all hell without change

19 04 2011
sten360

The drums are a bit too loud and need more variation in my opinion. You could’ve done something more interesting for the intro and outro aswell, having just the drums is kind of boring and doesn’t really fit for such a smooth and chill track. I know it’s better for a DJ to mix, but still, that shouldn’t be one of the main concerns when producing. But yeah, just my opinion, other than that it’s an amazingly chill tune. Love the melody and the synth choices. Big up!

19 04 2011
davidandperry

@lordtms He’s using Reason 4 from propellerhead studios

19 04 2011
TheDJHERO1000

I have to say man this is relaxing as fuck I’m loving this track

19 04 2011
AceSpade09

I like darkstep and Neuro Funk a lot but this, i must say, is a very good track…
great job & keep up the great work m8
Thumbs…
T4U…

19 04 2011
Heykelidikilecekadam

Man you rock!

19 04 2011
rushinghard

How do i get the thor to connect to the redrum machine.

19 04 2011
rushinghard

Im trying to use the thor but it does not seem to connect to the redrum so i cant get any effects.
What do i do??

19 04 2011
oOMalevolentOo

how do u add notes? useing thor

19 04 2011
australiandj

How do you neaten things up ? I see you have just combinators, And its very neat. I followed instructions etc and even when I close off the little down arrow on things I can still kinda see them in the rack. TIPS ANY1???? I want my view to look like–>ABOVE!!==VIDEO, Just to keep things neat

19 04 2011
australiandj

How do you neaten things up ? I see you have just combinators, And its very neat. I followed instructions etc and even when I close off the little down arrow on things I can still kinda see them in the rack. TIPS ANY1???? I want my view to look like–>ABOVE!!==VIDEO, Just to keep things neet

19 04 2011
simontheplayer

I think your speech is good. Its clear, easy to understand, but not slow either. Your voice sound chilled and positive as-well.

19 04 2011
nerxboy

@mingdienasty LMFAO

19 04 2011
TheMonkeyBrothers

@mingdienasty haha! ive never done a video of his without pausing it. i dont know how you can.. people nowerdayss ayee

19 04 2011
FreakMeBaby88

Your voice is so fucking annoying, but great video.🙂

19 04 2011
firstborncirillo

I didn’t see the ‘snare roll’ technique covered. In your ‘day 2’ video it skips right past it?

19 04 2011
koraz01

ok well first off hi Dave I want to say thanks for posting your vids and your web page on how to help teach others to make music and music making software.

second on your day 2 tutorial on trance I am lost now on how you inputted the notes into the thor and what not do you think I can get a quick expo on that. cuz I am really lost I will try and do the best I can to figure it out for myself but like I said i am stuck so thanks.

19 04 2011
Twentysixbillion

i IMAGINE i WILL COME OUT WITH A SONG VERY SIMILAR TO YOURS

19 04 2011
niniozoe

how did you get the pattern..?????

19 04 2011
mingdienasty

@TysonMacgonzo
damn son you’ve said that on every video.
What you want him to do the whole tutorial over again slowly for you?
There’s a button that looks like this “II” it’s called a pause. Use it

19 04 2011
TysonMacgonzo

explain it slowly please!!!!!!!!

19 04 2011
NinjaGinga14

thank you so much for showing us how to choose our notes, you usually don’t do stuff like that very much, it would be really cool if you did it more because it’s really helpful

19 04 2011
inflikkt

i wana know how to make 16th note trance basslines. like in classic trance era. i cant seem to replicate that styl bassline at all

19 04 2011
djscratch22

Another nice tut matey, i really appreciate all the musical theory chord progressions etc really helping with my key choices and melodies

keep up the good work🙂

19 04 2011
Sythaz

Ha I laughed when you said “name it something imaginative… like bass” way too hard and it wasn’t even that funny.




