Flash Tutorial: Link Buttons to External URLs -HD-

17 04 2011

In this tutorial, you will learn how to link buttons to external urls in Flash CS4. Be sure to SUBSCRIBE because there will be a new tutorial every week. Follow me on Twitter @RiverCityGraphx Like us on on facebook: on.fb.me Suggest tutorials at http://www.rivercitygraphix.com For project files, help forums, and more check out the website at http For business related inquires contact us at rivercitygraphix@yahoo.com
Video Rating: 4 / 5


Actions

Information

25 responses

17 04 2011
MrBigBoss91

dude u saved me I have project thanks verymuch

17 04 2011
ahb3000

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

17 04 2011
wingofwisdom

* Awesome tutorials *
They’re easy to follow. Keep them coming!

P.S.: You can also make the text a link so that it does not involve any ActionScript.
It would not give the impression that the user clicks on a button, though.
You can find this option by selecting the text and check properties>option. There you have “Link” and “Target” fields.

17 04 2011
josechepe80

Hello, Thanks for your help , I just want to know something Please i will pay you if its necessary Lol jk , i downloaded an editable Template but when i am gonna add a link to a botton it says In ActionScript 3.0 Code can not be directly in Objects, please select a frame or use the code snippet to apply.

17 04 2011
Bankai4tailLuffy

This works for Macromedia Flash as well?

17 04 2011
nabitnow123

this doesn’t work! and why the F*** do we have to put all this F-ing code just to enter one F-ing link for one F-ing button!!!

17 04 2011
uhytiful

Why are you waiting here online Naughty woman mworld5.info

17 04 2011
RiverCityGraphix

@sackman138 Make another button with a different instance name. Copy and paste the code a second time. Change the instance name and the url location in the code for the second button.

17 04 2011
sackman138

how do you link two buttons to different urls?

17 04 2011
osospasha

thax a million for this useful session , but i have a problem in it , when i did the same on some project here , this only works when i test it in flash ” like a press Crl+Entr and it loads the movie and i press on the Btn then it’s works , but when i try it from th e HTML file , it dos’t work ” and i don’t know why , plz help me in this ,,, and thax again 🙂

17 04 2011
rama1234ish

so how do you get that file to the public?

17 04 2011
szw75

nice vid man 🙂 thats really helped me 😀 i subscribed you! THX! sorry for my eng

17 04 2011
scottfbc

hello, flash keep giving an error on the 8 line ?? i don’t know how to fixx that
could you help me?

thanks,

17 04 2011
bujitumutombo

thank you are a life savior

17 04 2011
nanobecca

Thanks for the response! I did IT! After I looked at the video you suggested I realized I was doing it right the whole time I was jsut shrinking it so much it went away lol i just had to change the stage size! oh yeah!

17 04 2011
RiverCityGraphix

@nanobecca I have a video explaining how to add flash into your Dreamweaver projects.

17 04 2011
nanobecca

great video thanks got it to work! yay! now…how do I add it to my dreamweaver project?

17 04 2011
bambamnica

dude thnx!!!! I’ve been breaking my head on this. you make it seem so easy.

17 04 2011
TheWorldofjake

Awesome tutorial 5/5 but, One question, I have three buttons in which I edited the code for all three, for all three I get this error “1046: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant: Void.” Please help, Thanks! -Jacob

17 04 2011
jjj3jjj

I’m getting the error that reads missing left brace ({) before the function body. Tried inserting it before function and that didn’t work

17 04 2011
stianguttten

tytytytytytytytytyty!!!!!! THX man! great vid;)

17 04 2011
RiverCityGraphix

@TheDannykaka Yep.

17 04 2011
TheDannykaka

so if I don’t want to open it in a new window, I should type “self” instead of “blank” ?

17 04 2011
cat021976

Hi, please help! I´m going crazy I’ve tried all to debug this code… it keeps on giving me a sintax error:
1084: Syntax error: expecting rightparen before dot.
function aClick(event.MouseEvent):void{
before what dot?
I tried removing the dot between event.MouseEvent, and then it just tells me no syntax errors, but it doesn’t go to my html file, should I use a different command than the URLRequest to get an HTML file with flash?
Please help 🙂

17 04 2011
wjp73057

great Video I was Going Crazy Trying To Find a Good Tutorial That Was Clear ,To the Point, Correct That Was Coded Correctly- Thank You So Much




