Flash CS4 Tutorial: Simple Non-XML Photo Gallery

17 04 2011

Before we get going and really dig into building this photo gallery I want to take a moment and just explain what we want to do and maybe a little on how we expect to do it. I am going to guide you through building a simple base dynamic photo gallery and each month we will continue building features into the gallery, things like a dynamic loader, XML support, fancy buttons, contact form, maybe even a sound/media player and my plan is that in the end we will have almost a fully dynamic site/web application you could use as your portfolio for web work, or photography, or maybe even a client if you so wish, oh and the kicker is we will do as much as we can with Actionscript and as little as we can with Flash as far as drawing shapes, tweening on the timeline, and symbols as we can. True to my nature, I have not really planned out how this whole thing is going to finally look, so we may encounter some bumps along the way, but I guarantee it will be a great learning experience! Follow me on Twitter! http://www.twitter.com Be sure to check out http://www.tutvid.com Check out the blog @ http
Video Rating: 4 / 5

Actions

Information

25 responses

17 04 2011
Teaching4All

Thanks for the video, it is clear and easy to follow. However, I am getting an error, unable to locate URL.
My files are all in the same directory and I have opened bridge but don’t see the fla file? Could you offer any adivice? Thanks.

17 04 2011
WilbertWynnF

Download the audio from this video at speedyconversion doht cohm.

17 04 2011
MiXana6

I got a problem with centering the images… Using CS5 here

17 04 2011
roxybullfight1994

I will try to follow these intructions to make a photogallery in Flash. Is it ok with cs 5 on a Mac as well? I,m a student,and I think that your instruction videos are much better than our school tutorials. Thanks! Tone

17 04 2011
labori90

Wow! I really liked this video, helped me understand and learn coding much much more! Thanks for the insight and all the good good stuff ahah 🙂

17 04 2011
KrazZyDj

wow..very good tutorial and it is by far one of the best explained tutorials i’ve found on the net.thanks a lot

17 04 2011
werewret

Asian women and success your life busizz4me.info

17 04 2011
moreenthimu

Time to stop crying try Naughty women mworld5.info

17 04 2011
goldenboyjun

hey nate can you make a 3d carousel image menu in flash cs4 wiht XML and has labels.

thanks

17 04 2011
nok36

How can i change the background color? if an photo is standing, you have a standard a white background.

17 04 2011
nok36

How can i change the background color? if an photo is standing, you have a standard a white background.

17 04 2011
KillerGuitar007

what will I have to do if I want to use Images I’ve imported?

17 04 2011
jeanclaude36

Great tutorial! I have a question. — What happen to the varied optimized area in CS5? How can Adobe take a valuable feature as this because it allows you to reduce image size way down. Is it hidden or does Dreamweaver does the job now. Please help — thanks.

17 04 2011
EugeniaMikael

Thanks again Nate. Awsome tutorial.

17 04 2011
emgobyron

As for me it does not recognize the URL? I mean how if I switch the swf on on my computer will it know it is in a folder called image as there are loads.. it does not make sense and how if online it will go through the server password and login, I am on mac anybody having a response for me? Cheers, Emmanuel

17 04 2011
macalinyare309

@svidBAMF What if Iam my image name is like “John1.jpg”, “John2.jpg”, “Smith.jpg”, …. and so on, and so on???

17 04 2011
macalinyare309

What if Iam my image name is like “John1.jpg”, “John2.jpg”, “Smith.jpg”, …. and so on, and so on???

17 04 2011
AngelSanctuary13

@marer13 I have the same problem as you >__< Why the code doesn't work? Did you find a solution?

17 04 2011
inteltuts

Hey nate! Is that ur girlfriend in those pictures? Anyways awesome tuts!

17 04 2011
arschacks

Looks sexy.

17 04 2011
Tutcove

Nice tutorial as always Nathan. -Chris

17 04 2011
marer13

The code doesn’t work…..

Here’s the error message that comes out:

” Error #2044: Unhandled IOErrorEvent:. text=Error #2035: URL Not Found. ”

Any ideas? My code is exactly the same as yours….

17 04 2011
101janos

I found HTML soo hard to do in my highschool!! :O

17 04 2011
mangafroster

where did you learn all that scripting? O.O

17 04 2011
iisdan

meh, u should do some javascript, jquery, etc vids.




