Secretary Clinton Encourages Americans to Host Exchange Students

3 04 2011

Each year, thousands of engaged young people from around the world travel to the United States, eager to learn about American life and share perspectives from their own countries. Families who welcome these exchange students into their homes and hearts not only enrich the life of an exceptional young person, they help build people-to-people connections that span the globe and last a lifetime. Host families are essential to the success of international exchange programs. Become a host family: exchanges.state.gov
Video Rating: 4 / 5

mp3download-fiesta.com – Download – mp3download-fiesta.com – Download – mp3download-fiesta.com – Download – mp3download-fiesta.com – Download – mp3download-fiesta.com – Download – mp3download-fiesta.com – Download –

Actions

Information

25 responses

3 04 2011
rsanter1223

I think it’s wonderful of her to encourage people to do something like that. I did host a lot of students from many different schools in Massachusetts and I have 2 videos on youtube about that great program.
rsanter1223

3 04 2011
Jbo1996

What an awesome message from a woman leader I admire and look up to. Very well said Hillary Clinton!

3 04 2011
wulfbooy

U know I’m really scared sh@tless whenever I see that lady.

3 04 2011
MrCoolmody

We host 2 students. We highly recommend exchange – students and their families are great and a positive influence on our children. Research exchange companies BEFORE you sign up – our only negative experience has been with the host company. At a minimum -it will cost about $6,000 per year per student out of YOUR pocket for food, gas, and utilities (without extras like eating out or trips). They are active teenagers that can’t drive themselves. They need parents not just a bed and meals.

3 04 2011
GORO911

What an ugly woman
inside and outside

3 04 2011
spiritwolf50

The Wolf in sheeps clothing

3 04 2011
lilimueh

I’ve been an exchange student in the United States,in Indiana,with YOUTH FOR UNDERSTANDING two years ago.And it was a live changing experice with still influences me and my life,in a very positiv way I couldn’t agree more,by say that a year abroad made me a better person,gave me a different view on life itself and the world as a whole as one community.Let’s move colser togehther by exchanging lifestyles and cultures.Let’s make this earth a better and maybe more understanding and peaceful world!

3 04 2011
kewllp

It is wonderful to see the support that American families and other countries give to the youth of today! Both my children are third cultured kids and have had so many amazing experiences living around the world. It had opened their eyes to diversity and knowledge of other Global cultures. As an expat kid living in Africa, I too realize that is it so important for us to understand and embrace other nationalities. Well done and thank you Secretary Hillary Clinton for your continuing support.

3 04 2011
WreckersFan4Life

I was an exchange student to Japan in June. My family is hosting a Japanese student next month. 😀

3 04 2011
kaliuv

It’s really nice of her to make this video.
But this video reminds me the homeland security officer at the SFO. I said “yep” to his question, and he asked me if I learned to show repect back in Korea. He was very hateful to me. He said I had to say “yes” but it’s common mistake from sb who doesn’t speak english as first language. It was very first impression of USA to me. He didn’t necessarily have to be hateful to do his job. Don’t get me wrong. I know there are many good people out there.

3 04 2011
exchangesvideo

For more information about Hosting Opportunities, visit exchanges.state.gov/hosting/index.html

3 04 2011
janvkb

Joining the AFS exchange program was the best decision I ever took. It really changed my life and made me the person I am today.

3 04 2011
LisaChinnery

@chrismkerper I wonder why the home school has any say in an open enrollment, can you check with the District? I’ve never heard of another school impeding enrollment outside of their school.

3 04 2011
BuShirani

Thank you so much for your support.

3 04 2011
CarmieJoS

Our family has been hosting exchange students with Youth for Understanding since 2000. In that time we have hosted 5 students from around the world and our son made an exchange to Ecuador. It is a great experience! You will learn about the world in a way that you never could by just visiting another country.

Share your home, change the world.

3 04 2011
kirkastroth

Great message! Thank you for doing this. We will post it on our 4-H website. States’ 4-H International Exchange Programs hosts youth from all over the world and sends American youth to other countries.

3 04 2011
bradyja51

Eastern States Student Exchange, a Rotary Youth Exchange organization, is seeking students and host families from Maine to North Carolina. For more information call 888-768-2799.

3 04 2011
bradyja51

Eastern States Student Exchange, a Rotary Youth Exchange organization, is seeking students and host families from Maine to North Carolina. For more information call 888-768-2799.

3 04 2011
minainerz

You know what would really help the cause? Increasing the monthly tax deduction to a level commiserate with even a fraction of the expenses incurred hosting. It hasn’t been adjusted since 1986, and that isn’t helping families that want to host, but are on the edge financially — which is most Americans these days.

3 04 2011
xxxbruno

I’m brazilian and was with AFS ’06 in Germany, where I met loads of nice people not only from Germany, but from all over the world!
Yeah people! Go abroad, host people and exchange experiences, try to understand other people and other cultures, change this world!! (Y) for you, Mrs. Clinton!

3 04 2011
wgk001

@chrismkerper Chris, it was great to talk with you this evening. We did contact Aletia. Again, let us know how it goes for you and let us know if you continue to have the school problems. We will not let those girls be disappointed.

3 04 2011
chrismkerper

I would like someone to help me PLEASE!!!! We have decided to accept 2 exchange students and are really excited till we recieved the news the other day that our local public school will not accept our 2 girls in school for enrollment. we found a local school nearby that will accept them but they have to be open enrolled and our home school REFUSES!!!! please anyone who can guide or help please call me 330 204 6748

3 04 2011
carlitos1259

Nice.

3 04 2011
NWSEStephen

Many American families know of the opportunity to host a foreign exchange student, but have not yet taken the step to host. At NWSE we hope that Ms. Clinton’s message encourages the volunteer spirit in American families to become part of the tradition of a global community through hosting. Many tens of thousands of families have enjoyed hosting foreign exchange students over the decades. We thank the Secretary of State for publically promoting cultural exchange.

3 04 2011
chrismkerper

anyone interested in taken a exchange student please call me, if these remaining kids dont have a host family by aug 25th they will not be able to come for the school year, 330 204 6748




